top of page


Purchasing a diamond can often feel like a daunting task. Familiarizing yourself with fundamental diamond information, such as the 4Cs, will empower you when making your selection. Be assured, we are here to support you every step of the way.

Diamond education 1.jpeg

What are the 4Cs?

The 4C’s - cut, color, clarity, and carat - are the standardized criteria established by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA). This introduction of the 4C’s marked two significant milestones: it allowed for the communication of diamond quality using a universally understood framework, and it provided buyers with precise knowledge about their impending purchase.


Cut Grading

Perhaps the most crucial of the 4Cs, cut is the only human contribution to a diamond’s beauty. A well-cut diamond will have more sparkle and brilliance.

Clarity Grading

Clarity pertains to the natural inclusions and blemishes found in a diamond. Diamonds are assessed on a scale from Flawless to Included, with the grading based on the extent of these imperfections, or lack thereof.

Screen Shot 2023-10-22 at 9.48.06 PM.png

Color Grading

The term "diamond color" actually refers to its absence of color. This characteristic is evaluated on a scale from D to Z, where D signifies a complete absence of detectable color, while Z indicates a light presence of color.

Carat Grading

Carat refers to a diamond’s weight. Generally, the higher the carat weight, the larger a diamond appears.

carat scale2.webp
bottom of page